Highly skilled, committed and diverse teachers

Our team of teachers

We are proud of our highly skilled, committed and diverse team of teachers at Fitzroy High School. 

We have a vibrant teaching staff with a balance of experienced and recently trained teachers.A number of teachers have joined us as mature-age graduates, coming to education from diverse professional backgrounds.

They bring their experience, knowledge and expertise from their various other professions. 

The single cohesive element that unites our teachers as a team is their commitment to education and to building relationships with our students. This enhances our capacity to achieve optimum educational outcomes for all of our students.

Life-long learning

At Fitzroy High School our team of teachers models a commitment to life-long learning. 

We ensure all our teaching staff engage in extensive professional learning, allowing them to keep abreast of the most recent educational research to apply their learning to their classroom practice.

We provide weekly professional learning session for our teachers and many of our teachers also have post-graduate qualifications.

Sharing our approach with other educators

Fitzroy High School has captured the interest of the broader educational community. 

We are regularly contacted by local and international educators interested in learning more about our approach to personalising our curriculum and its impact on improved student learning. 

Professional learning mornings are offered each term and are always well attended by interested educators.

Fitzroy HS Staff List, Roles & Contact

 

Name SURNAME Team / Office Position/Role Email
Abbey AKERS Admin Leadership Facilitator / Admin abbeya@fitzroyhs.vic.edu.au
Kate ALLISON Indigo Team
Year 8
Performance Leader, English       Drama Sport Music, Performance katea@fitzroyhs.vic.edu.au
Ella AMPONGAN Scarlet Team
Year 12
Maths, Excel ellaa@fitzroyhs.vic.edu.au
Olie BALESTRA Indigo Team
Year 7
Italian, Food Technology, Excel olieb@fitzroyhs.vic.edu.au
Noam BARDEA Indigo Team
Year 8
Maths, Science, Sport noamb@fitzroyhs.vic.edu.au
Peter BENNET Indigo Team
Year 7
Data Management Leader, Maths Science Chemistry peterb@fitzroyhs.vic.edu.au
Jamie BISHOP Scarlet Team
Year 12
Co Teaching and Learning Leader English Psychology jamieb@fitzroyhs.vic.edu.au
Deb BRYANT Inclusion Inclusion Aide debrab@fitzroyhs.vic.edu.au
Joanne BURCH Wellbeing SSSO Psychologist joanneb@fitzroyhs.vic.edu.au
Paul CAHILL Indigo Team Leader
Year 7
Language Toolbox, Inquiry, Physical Activity Sport paulc@fitzroyhs.vic.edu.au
Diane  CHRISTENSEN Inclusion Inclusion Aide dianec@fitzroyhs.vic.edu.au
Tim COATES Information Services ICT Technician timc@fitzroyhs.vic.edu.au
Robyn COGHLAN Admin Office Administration robync@fitzroyhs.vic.edu.au
Yolanda DE SANTIS Scarlet Team
Year 12
VET Leader, VET Sport and Recreation, VCAL Literacy, Sport, Excel yolandas@fitzroyhs.vic.edu.au
Sandra DICKINS Scarlet Team
Year 10
Co Scarlet Team Leader, Pathways and Community Leader, VCAL Work Related Skills,Connect,Excel sandrad@fitzroyhs.vic.edu.au
Tung DINH Information Services ICT Technician tungd@fitzroyhs.vic.edu.au
Jimmy DUNN Inclusion Inclusion Aide jimmyd@fitzroyhs.vic.edu.au
Annie DURBRIDGE Information Services Information Services, Librarian annied@fitzroyhs.vic.edu.au
Alicia EASTEAL Indigo Team
Year 7
Language Toolbox, Inquiry,Drama Sport, Excel aliciae@fitzroyhs.vic.edu.au
Linda EKMAN-TRIANDOS Scarlet Team
Leader
Year 10
Maths, Physical Activity, Discover Sport lindae@fitzroyhs.vic.edu.au
Layal FAOUR Jet Team
Year 9
English, Inquiry, Excel layalf@fitzroyhs.vic.edu.au
Sue FARRELL Admin Business Manager suef@fitzroyhs.vic.edu.au
Christine FITZGERALD Indigo Team
Year 8
Language Toolbox, Inquiry, Excel christinef@fitzroyhs.vic.edu.au
Jenny FULFORD Indigo Team Leader
Year 7
Maths, Science, Inquiry, Connect jennyf@fitzroyhs.vic.edu.au
Maddy GANDHI-KHERICHA Jet Team
Leader
Year 9
Maths, Science, Connect maddyg@fitzroyhs.vic.edu.au
Shannon GRATION Scarlet Team
Year 10
Co Sport Leader, Health and Human Development Discover, Physical Activity, Excel shannong@fitzroyhs.vic.edu.au
Georgina HARPER Scarlet Team
Year 12
Co Teaching and Learning Ladder English, Media Studio Art, Excel georginah@fitzroyhs.vic.edu.au
Duncan HILLIER Jet Team
Year 9
Co Sport Leader, Maths, Science   Connect, Sport Excel duncanh@fitzroyhs.vic.edu.au
John HINMAN Scarlet Team
Leader
Year 11-12 
English, Politics, Extended Investigation johnh@fitzroyhs.vic.edu.au
Tom HOYLE Music (Indigo) Instrumental Music Leader, Indigo Team, Music tomh@fitzroyhs.vic.edu.au
Ella HUDSON Indigo Team
Year 7
English Inquiry, Physical Activity Language Toolbox ellah@fitzroyhs.vic.edu.au
Karen HUTCHINSON   SSSO Social Worker karenh@fitzroyhs.vic.edu.au
James JACKSON Scarlet Team
Year 10
Science, Biology jamesj@fitzroyhs.vic.edu.au
Miranda JENKIN Scarlet Team
Year 11
Physical Activity, Inquiry, Connect mirandaj@fitzroyhs.vic.edu.au
Susan JONES Indigo / Jet
Year 7 - 9
Academic Facilitator
Year 7 - 9
susanj@fitzroyhs.vic.edu.au
Maria KACZMARSKA Scarlet Team
Year 11
Inquiry, History mariak@fitzroyhs.vic.edu.au
Eva  KAHAN Inclusion Inclusion Aide evak@fitzroyhs.vic.edu.au
Chris KELLY ICT DET ICT Technician chrisk@fitzroyhs.vic.edu.au
Titus LAW Library  Librarian Assistant titusl@fitzroyhs.vic.edu.au
Bronwyn LEWIS Jet Team Drama, English bronwynl@fitzroyhs.vic.edu.au
Dave LOGAN Scarlet Team
Year 11
Physics, Science, Business Management davidl@fitzroyhs.vic.edu.au
Rocco LUCCA Technology (Scarlet) Wood Technology, Product Design Sport roccol@fitzroyhs.vic.edu.au
Travis MCKENZIE Jet Team
Year 9
English, Inquiry, Art, Connect Media, Multimedia travism@fitzroyhs.vic.edu.au
Neil MCLEAN Indigo Team Leader
Year 8
Maths, Inquiry, Sport neilm@fitzroyhs.vic.edu.au
Maryanne MCNABB Inclusion Inclusion Aide maryannem@fitzroyhs.vic.edu.au
Chris MILLARD Scarlet Team
Co Leader
Year 11
Senior Programs Leader, Maths VCAL Numeracy, Physical Education chrism@fitzroyhs.vic.edu.au
Nellie (Daniella) MORALES Jet Team
Year 9
English, Italian daniellam@fitzroyhs.vic.edu.au
Pina MURACA Admin Office Manager pinam@fitzroyhs.vic.edu.au
Matt NIEUWENHUIZEN Scarlet Team
Year 10
English, Inquiry, Philosophy, Sport matthewn@fitzroyhs.vic.edu.au
Vaughan NIKITIN Indigo Team
Year 8
Maths, Science vaughann@fitzroyhs.vic.edu.au
Moira NIXON Inclusion Leader Inclusion Co-ordinator moiran@fitzroyhs.vic.edu.au
Briony O’KEEFE Indigo Team
Year 8
English Inquiry brionyo@fitzroyhs.vic.edu.au
Ian PARK Operations Operations Manager ianp@fitzroyhs.vic.edu.au
Rainer PARKER STEBBING Scarlet Team
Year 11
Student Wellbeing Leader         Legal Studies rainerp@fitzroyhs.vic.edu.au
Doris PEARSE Scarlet VCE Academic Facilitator
Years 10-12 / VASS
dorisp@fitzroyhs.vic.edu.au
Jason PIETZNER Indigo Team
Year 7
English, Inquiry, Maths jasonp@fitzroyhs.vic.edu.au
Pauline RICE Principal Principal, Discover pauliner@fitzroyhs.vic.edu.au
Yolande ROBERTSON Inclusion Inclusion Aide yolander@fitzroyhs.vic.edu.au
Riley ROGERS Scarlet Team
Year 11
English Inquiry, Physical Activity rileyr@fitzroyhs.vic.edu.au
Erin SCHROEDER Scarlet Team
Year 11
Sustainability Leader, English Chemistry Science erins@fitzroyhs.vic.edu.au
Laura SOLIS Food Tech / Inclusion Food Assistant / Inclusion Aide lauras@fitzroyhs.vic.edu.au
Louise SPEIRS-BRIDGE Tram Hands on Learning Artisan Instructor louises@fitzroyhs.vic.edu.au
Vicki STRATIS Indigo Team
Year 7
7-9 Curriculum Support Leader
Language Toolbox, Art, Literacy Support
vickies@fitzroyhs.vic.edu.au
Penny STRAY Tram Hands on Learning Artisan Instructor pennys@fitzroyhs.vic.edu.au
Josephine TERRITI Jet Team
Year 9
Maths, Physical Activity, Sport josephinet@fitzroyhs.vic.edu.au
Kat WHYTE Scarlet Team
Year 10
Science, LOTE, English, Inquiry    Sport kathrynw@fitzroyhs.vic.edu.au
Hank WOLLMERING Science Science Technician hankw@fitzroyhs.vic.edu.au
Peter Bennet

Peter Bennet is the school’s Data Manager (using data to support teaching and learning, as well as timetabling and organisation).

In his spare time he teaches Biology, Chemistry and Science - a lucky break as they’re among his major interests which focus on natural history (especially birdwatching), bushwalking and photography.

He studied Zoology and Genetics, fell into teaching by mistake, liked it and is now in his 30th year.

Jamie Bishop

Jamie Bishop is the Scarlet 10 Leader.

He teaches English and Inquiry at Year 10, as well as Year 11 Psychology.

Jamie originally completed a Bachelor of Psychology and went on to graduate with a Diploma of Secondary Education.

Jamie has taught in a number of schools both here in Melbourne and overseas in London where he worked and travelled for a significant amount of time.

Sandra Dickins

Sandra Dickins is the Pathways and Community Leader. She is active in the community and lives locally.  Her many occupations in Australia, Italy and the UK, help to debunk the myth of ‘one job for life’.  In her adult working life Sandra has been a teacher, trainer, international flight attendant, manager, consultant and administrator. She is also the school’s careers counsellor and transition leader.  Sandra has a Bachelor of Education and a Graduate Diploma in Careers Education and Development.

Jenny Fulford

Jenny Fulford is the Indigo Team Leader. She is a mother and a teacher. Jenny loves to be active outdoors and to make things. Jenny has taught for 30 years including: gymnastics to Primary School students; basic Maths to parents and grandparents who wanted to catch up to their offspring, and to young adult migrants; PE, Health, Maths and Science to High School students; bus driving to teachers. She hopes her legacy is to open minds up to possibilities rather than cramming them full of facts.

Maddy Gandhi-Khericha

Maddy is the Indigo 7 Leader. She is extremely qualified with Bachelor and Masters of Science in Electronics from India and Masters of Engineering in Micro-Electronics at Swinburne University.  After a year of working for an engineering firm in Melbourne, Maddy has greatly enjoyed her return to teaching after having taught back in India.  Apart from teaching, Maddy also loves to cook and spend quality time at home, relaxing, playing XBox and watching movies with family.

Shannon Gration

Shannon Gration graduated from the University of Ballarat with a double degree in Bachelor of Teaching (Physical Education and Health) and Bachelor of Applied Science (Human Movement).  He has been involved in a plethora of sports, including surfing, basketball, adventure racing, cycling and represented Australia when competing in world championship level triathlons.  His love of sport and energy drives his teaching, and he aims to instill in his students healthy life style choices to enhance their wellbeing.

John Hinman

John Hinman spent many years as a proofreader, editor and author of political, economic, business and travel publications. He has worked in the antipodes and overseas for, among others, the Economist Intelligence Unit, Lonely Planet and John Wiley and Sons. He has taught History and Politics and, at FHS, Conspiracy Theories and Espionage.

James Jackson

James Jackson is the ICT Leader and a graduate of Monash University and La Trobe University. He has qualifications in Biology, Zoology, Asian History, French and Clinical Massage. In past lives, before joining FHS, James worked with the aged and disabled, taught English in Peru, was a masseur on cruise ships and designed and installed gyms throughout Melbourne. James grew up in country Victoria and still spends time “off-world” when he can.

Rocco Lucca

Rocco Lucca was born in Italy, migrating to Australia in 1972. He first attended Fitzroy High before moving to Princes Hill. Rocco completed a combined Bachelor of Education in Arts, Craft and Italian. After experience at many schools Rocco returned to Fitzroy High as a teacher in 2005. He teaches across a broad range of areas including Technology – Wood and Food, Art, Sport and Italian.

Travis McKenzie

Travis McKenzie grew up in country Victoria, where boys either surfed or played football. He did neither, and as this was a time before the Internet, he found his escape in books. After completing a Creative Arts degree, where he majored in sculpture and creative writing, Travis travelled for a year. On returning to Australia, Travis started a family, got a job at Fitzroy and began writing a novel. He was thrilled to have his novel published last year and is onto his second novel. Now in his 9th year of teaching, Travis is finally comfortable in defining what 'Art' is.

Neil McLean

Neil McLean completed Bachelors of Arts in Geography and Economics from university of Toronto and Diploma of Education from University of Newcastle in NSW.  Neil moved to Melbourne in 2010 and joined Fitzroy High School community as a Sports and Math's teacher. In 2011 he took over the sports coordinator position. Apart from sports Neil loves travelling, hanging out with friends, and playing bridge.

Chris Millard

Chris Millard is the Jet Team Leader and arrived at Fitzroy in its re-opening year of 2004. Originally, he grew up in Warrnambool and moved to Melbourne to complete his degree in Applied Science (Physical Education).  At Fitzroy, he has worked in all the teams – Sapphire, Indigo, Jet and Scarlet and taken on the role as Sport Co-ordinator as well during that time. Away from school, Chris is a keen cricketer who plays for Carlton in the Victorian Premer Cricket Competition.

Briony O'Keeffe

Briony O’Keeffe is the Year 9 Leader and teaches English and Inquiry. She completed a BA with Honours at La Trobe University and a Dip. Ed. at the University of Melbourne. Briony worked as a senior drug and alcohol researcher for 5 years before deciding that the passion she had felt as a tutor at La Trobe led naturally to a teaching career. She loves to travel, and has spent time living in London and Berlin.

Rainer Parker-Stebbing

Rainer Parker-Stebbing is the Student Wellbeing Leader. He graduated from The University of Melbourne in 1999 with a Bachelor of Arts (Criminology) and then spent the next few years working in fashion wholesale and retail in Melbourne and overseas for both large and small businesses. He completed his teaching Diploma at The University of Melbourne in 2007 and was lucky enough to secure a placement that year at Fitzroy High School, which became a permanent teaching position the following year.

Jason Pietzner

Jason Pietzner has been a staff member at Fitzroy since it reopened in 2004. Before that he worked in primary schools in Melbourne and England where he held a range of roles involved in the development of curriculum and thinking skills. He teaches English, Literature and Media. Jason is also completing a PhD that examines the role of philosophical dialogue in the English classroom.

Pauline Rice

Pauline Rice is our Principal and has been in the role for four years, with an additional year as Acting Principal. She joined the school when it first opened in 2004 and commenced as the Indigo Team Leader, then moved on to become the Assistant Principal.  Prior to her time at Fitzroy, Pauline was a Middle Years Consultant, working with schools in the Northern Metropolitan Region of the Education Department. A large part of her work in this role was based on current educational research looking at what makes a highly effective school. For two years she worked with the planning committee to re-open Fitzroy High School and ultimately applied to join Fitzroy High School because she wanted to turn educational theory into reality. Pauline has also worked at Brunswick Secondary College and Debney Park Secondary College, where she held many leadership roles and taught across all year levels. Pauline believes that to be intellectually healthy it helps to be physically active. Pauline maintains her fitness by rowing, skiing and going to the gym. As an educator and a parent, Pauline recognises that all young people are different with a variety of needs. She believes it is important that we acknowledge and appreciate this rich diversity so we can better cater for the individual interests, talents and aspirations of the students in our care.

Erin Schroeder

Erin Schroeder joined the staff as a graduate in 2011.  Erin completed an Arts/Science degree in Canada and after moving to Australia she completed a Diploma in Natural Resource Management. Erin worked in the environmental and conservation industry for 5 years, working with young people to develop their conservation and land management skills.  Erin completed her Masters of Education at the University of Melbourne.

Vickie Stratis

Vickie Stratis studied at the Victoria College of the Arts- Prahran, where she majored in painting.  In the following years, she worked as a practicing artist. Vickie went back to study in 1991 at Melbourne University to complete a Bachelor of Education in the Visual Arts. In 1995, she founded Zoa- Fine Arts and Crafts, a business which produced hand- made furniture and giftware. Zoa’s products were stocked in many boutique shops around Australia. She also opened a gallery gift shop, Hunky Dora Design, which represented the artworks of more than sixty local artists. Vickie has two young children at Primary school. She came to Fitzroy High School in 2005 and teaches Art and Literacy Support.