Highly skilled, committed and diverse teachers

Our team of teachers

We are proud of our highly skilled, committed and diverse team of teachers at Fitzroy High School. 

We have a vibrant teaching staff with a balance of experienced and recently trained teachers.A number of teachers have joined us as mature-age graduates, coming to education from diverse professional backgrounds.

They bring their experience, knowledge and expertise from their various other professions. 

The single cohesive element that unites our teachers as a team is their commitment to education and to building relationships with our students. This enhances our capacity to achieve optimum educational outcomes for all of our students.

Life-long learning

At Fitzroy High School our team of teachers models a commitment to life-long learning. 

We ensure all our teaching staff engage in extensive professional learning, allowing them to keep abreast of the most recent educational research to apply their learning to their classroom practice.

We provide weekly professional learning session for our teachers and many of our teachers also have post-graduate qualifications.

Sharing our approach with other educators

Fitzroy High School has captured the interest of the broader educational community. 

We are regularly contacted by local and international educators interested in learning more about our approach to personalising our curriculum and its impact on improved student learning. 

Professional learning mornings are offered each term and are always well attended by interested educators.

Fitzroy HS Staff List, Roles & Contact

 

 

Name SURNAME Position/Team Email    
Abbey AKERS Leadership Facilitator abbeya@fitzroyhs.vic.edu.au    
Chiara AGOSTINO Jet chiaraa@fitzroyhs.vic.edu.au    
Kate ALLISON Performance Co-ordinator/Scarlet katea@fitzroyhs.vic.edu.au    
Ella AMPONGAN 10-12 Data and Pedagogy Leader/Scarlet ellaa@fitzroyhs.vic.edu.au    
Olie BALESTRA Jet olieb@fitzroyhs.vic.edu.au    
Noam BARDEA Indigo 8 noamb@fitzroyhs.vic.edu.au    
Peter BENNET Data Manager/Daily Org/Student Teachers peterb@fitzroyhs.vic.edu.au    
Jamie BISHOP Wellbeing/Scarlet jamieb@fitzroyhs.vic.edu.au    
Deb BRYANT Inclusion debrab@fitzroyhs.vic.edu.au    
Joanne BURCH Psychologist joanneb@fitzroyhs.vic.edu.au    
Paul CAHILL Indigo 8 Leader paulc@fitzroyhs.vic.edu.au    
Diane  CHRISTENSEN Inclusion dianec@fitzroyhs.vic.edu.au    
Tim COATES Compass/ICT Technician timc@fitzroyhs.vic.edu.au    
Yolanda DE SANTIS VET Leader/Scarlet yolandas@fitzroyhs.vic.edu.au    
Sandra DICKINS Pathways and Community Leader/Scarlet sandrad@fitzroyhs.vic.edu.au    
Tung DINH ICT Technician tungd@fitzroyhs.vic.edu.au    
Jimmy DUNN Inclusion jimmyd@fitzroyhs.vic.edu.au    
Annie DURBRIDGE Information Services Manager annied@fitzroyhs.vic.edu.au    
Alicia EASTEAL Indigo 8 aliciae@fitzroyhs.vic.edu.au    
Linda EKMAN-TRIANDOS Wellbeing Leader/Indigor lindae@fitzroyhs.vic.edu.au    
Layal FAOUR Scarlet 10 layalf@fitzroyhs.vic.edu.au    
Kaaren FREEMAN Admin/accounts payable kaarenf@fitzroyhs.vic.edu.au    
Jenny FULFORD 9-10 Team Leader jennyf@fitzroyhs.vic.edu.au    
Maddy GANDHI-KHERICHA Scarlet 10 Leader maddyg@fitzroyhs.vic.edu.au    
Shannon GRATION Sports/First-Aid Coordinator/Scarlet shannong@fitzroyhs.vic.edu.au    
John HINMAN Scarlet 11-12 Team Leader johnh@fitzroyhs.vic.edu.au    
Matt HORSLEY DET ICT Technician matthewh@fitzroyhs.vic.edu.au    
Tom HOYLE Instrumental Music Coordinator/Indigo tomh@fitzroyhs.vic.edu.au    
Ella HUDSON Health and PE 7-10 PLC Leader/Indigo ellah@fitzroyhs.vic.edu.au    
James JACKSON Scarlet jamesj@fitzroyhs.vic.edu.au    
Miranda JENKIN Indigo Year 7 Leader mirandaj@fitzroyhs.vic.edu.au    
Susan JONES Academic Facilitator
Year 7 - 9
susanj@fitzroyhs.vic.edu.au    
Maria KACZMARSKA Scarlet mariak@fitzroyhs.vic.edu.au    
Eva  KAHANS Inclusion evak@fitzroyhs.vic.edu.au    
Chris KELLY DET ICT Technician chrisk@fitzroyhs.vic.edu.au    
Titus LAW Librarian Technician titusl@fitzroyhs.vic.edu.au    
Bronwyn LEWIS English 11-12 PLC Leader/Scarlet bronwynl@fitzroyhs.vic.edu.au    
Dave LOGAN Indigo 7 davidl@fitzroyhs.vic.edu.au    
Rocco LUCCA  Technology/Indigo roccol@fitzroyhs.vic.edu.au    
Yana MALSTE Indigo 8 yanam@fitzroyhs.vic.edu.au    
Travis MCKENZIE Scarlet  travism@fitzroyhs.vic.edu.au    
Neil MCLEAN Jet 9 Leader neilm@fitzroyhs.vic.edu.au    
Maryanne MCNABB Inclusion maryannem@fitzroyhs.vic.edu.au    
Ross MCDONALD Business Manager rossm@fitzroyhs.vic.edu.au    
Chris MILLARD Senior Programs Leader/Scarlet chrism@fitzroyhs.vic.edu.au    
Linda MITCHELL Assistant Principal/VCAL Leader lindam@fitzroyhs.vic.edu.au    
Gretchen MOHAN Admin/accounts receivable gretchenm@fitzroyhs.vic.edu.au    
Nellie (Daniella) MORALES Scarlet 10 daniellam@fitzroyhs.vic.edu.au    
Jackson MUIR Jet  jacksonm@fitzroyhs.vic.edu.au    
Clare MUSTON Indigo 7 clarem@fitzroyhs.vic.edu.au    
Matt NIEUWENHUIZEN Scarlet  matthewn@fitzroyhs.vic.edu.au    
Vaughan NIKITIN 7-9 Data and Pedagogy Leader/Scarlet 10 vaughann@fitzroyhs.vic.edu.au    
Moira NIXON Inclusion Leader moiran@fitzroyhs.vic.edu.au    
Briony O’KEEFE Jet  brionyo@fitzroyhs.vic.edu.au    
Vanessa PACIOCCO Indigo 7 vanessap@fitzroyhs.vic.edu.au    
Ian PARK Operations Manager ianp@fitzroyhs.vic.edu.au    
Rainer PARKER STEBBING Indigo 7-8 Team Leader rainerp@fitzroyhs.vic.edu.au    
Doris PEARSE Academic Facilitator
Years 10-12 / VASS
dorisp@fitzroyhs.vic.edu.au    
Jason PIETZNER Teaching and Learning Leader jasonp@fitzroyhs.vic.edu.au    
Pauline RICE Principal pauliner@fitzroyhs.vic.edu.au    
Yolande ROBERTSON Inclusion yolander@fitzroyhs.vic.edu.au    
Riley ROGERS Scarlet rileyr@fitzroyhs.vic.edu.au    
Erin SCHROEDER Science 7-10 PLC Leader/Scarlet erins@fitzroyhs.vic.edu.au    
Laura SOLIS Food Technology Assistant / Inclusion lauras@fitzroyhs.vic.edu.au    
Louise SPEIRS-BRIDGE Hands on Learning louises@fitzroyhs.vic.edu.au    
Vicki STRATIS Curriculum 7-9/Jet vickies@fitzroyhs.vic.edu.au    
Penny STRAY Hands on Learning pennys@fitzroyhs.vic.edu.au   54
TJ Dhavale Indigo 8 tejaswinid@fitzroyhs.vic.edu.au    
Josephine TERRITI Maths 7-10 PLC Leader/Scarlet 10 josephinet@fitzroyhs.vic.edu.au    
Susan WANG Scarlet susanw@fitzroyhs.vic.edu.au    
Jitske WIERSMA Scarlet   jitskew@fitzroyhs.vic.edu.au    
Hank WOLLMERING Science Technician hankw@fitzroyhs.vic.edu.au    
Peter Bennet

Peter Bennet is the school’s Data Manager (using data to support teaching and learning, as well as timetabling and organisation).

In his spare time he teaches Biology, Chemistry and Science - a lucky break as they’re among his major interests which focus on natural history (especially birdwatching), bushwalking and photography.

He studied Zoology and Genetics, fell into teaching by mistake, liked it and is now in his 30th year.

Jamie Bishop

Jamie Bishop is the Scarlet 10 Leader.

He teaches English and Inquiry at Year 10, as well as Year 11 Psychology.

Jamie originally completed a Bachelor of Psychology and went on to graduate with a Diploma of Secondary Education.

Jamie has taught in a number of schools both here in Melbourne and overseas in London where he worked and travelled for a significant amount of time.

Sandra Dickins

Sandra Dickins is the Pathways and Community Leader. She is active in the community and lives locally.  Her many occupations in Australia, Italy and the UK, help to debunk the myth of ‘one job for life’.  In her adult working life Sandra has been a teacher, trainer, international flight attendant, manager, consultant and administrator. She is also the school’s careers counsellor and transition leader.  Sandra has a Bachelor of Education and a Graduate Diploma in Careers Education and Development.

Jenny Fulford

Jenny Fulford is the Indigo Team Leader. She is a mother and a teacher. Jenny loves to be active outdoors and to make things. Jenny has taught for 30 years including: gymnastics to Primary School students; basic Maths to parents and grandparents who wanted to catch up to their offspring, and to young adult migrants; PE, Health, Maths and Science to High School students; bus driving to teachers. She hopes her legacy is to open minds up to possibilities rather than cramming them full of facts.

Maddy Gandhi-Khericha

Maddy is the Indigo 7 Leader. She is extremely qualified with Bachelor and Masters of Science in Electronics from India and Masters of Engineering in Micro-Electronics at Swinburne University.  After a year of working for an engineering firm in Melbourne, Maddy has greatly enjoyed her return to teaching after having taught back in India.  Apart from teaching, Maddy also loves to cook and spend quality time at home, relaxing, playing XBox and watching movies with family.

Shannon Gration

Shannon Gration graduated from the University of Ballarat with a double degree in Bachelor of Teaching (Physical Education and Health) and Bachelor of Applied Science (Human Movement).  He has been involved in a plethora of sports, including surfing, basketball, adventure racing, cycling and represented Australia when competing in world championship level triathlons.  His love of sport and energy drives his teaching, and he aims to instill in his students healthy life style choices to enhance their wellbeing.

John Hinman

John Hinman spent many years as a proofreader, editor and author of political, economic, business and travel publications. He has worked in the antipodes and overseas for, among others, the Economist Intelligence Unit, Lonely Planet and John Wiley and Sons. He has taught History and Politics and, at FHS, Conspiracy Theories and Espionage.

James Jackson

James Jackson is the ICT Leader and a graduate of Monash University and La Trobe University. He has qualifications in Biology, Zoology, Asian History, French and Clinical Massage. In past lives, before joining FHS, James worked with the aged and disabled, taught English in Peru, was a masseur on cruise ships and designed and installed gyms throughout Melbourne. James grew up in country Victoria and still spends time “off-world” when he can.

Rocco Lucca

Rocco Lucca was born in Italy, migrating to Australia in 1972. He first attended Fitzroy High before moving to Princes Hill. Rocco completed a combined Bachelor of Education in Arts, Craft and Italian. After experience at many schools Rocco returned to Fitzroy High as a teacher in 2005. He teaches across a broad range of areas including Technology – Wood and Food, Art, Sport and Italian.

Travis McKenzie

Travis McKenzie grew up in country Victoria, where boys either surfed or played football. He did neither, and as this was a time before the Internet, he found his escape in books. After completing a Creative Arts degree, where he majored in sculpture and creative writing, Travis travelled for a year. On returning to Australia, Travis started a family, got a job at Fitzroy and began writing a novel. He was thrilled to have his novel published last year and is onto his second novel. Now in his 9th year of teaching, Travis is finally comfortable in defining what 'Art' is.

Neil McLean

Neil McLean completed Bachelors of Arts in Geography and Economics from university of Toronto and Diploma of Education from University of Newcastle in NSW.  Neil moved to Melbourne in 2010 and joined Fitzroy High School community as a Sports and Math's teacher. In 2011 he took over the sports coordinator position. Apart from sports Neil loves travelling, hanging out with friends, and playing bridge.

Chris Millard

Chris Millard is the Jet Team Leader and arrived at Fitzroy in its re-opening year of 2004. Originally, he grew up in Warrnambool and moved to Melbourne to complete his degree in Applied Science (Physical Education).  At Fitzroy, he has worked in all the teams – Sapphire, Indigo, Jet and Scarlet and taken on the role as Sport Co-ordinator as well during that time. Away from school, Chris is a keen cricketer who plays for Carlton in the Victorian Premer Cricket Competition.

Briony O'Keeffe

Briony O’Keeffe is the Year 9 Leader and teaches English and Inquiry. She completed a BA with Honours at La Trobe University and a Dip. Ed. at the University of Melbourne. Briony worked as a senior drug and alcohol researcher for 5 years before deciding that the passion she had felt as a tutor at La Trobe led naturally to a teaching career. She loves to travel, and has spent time living in London and Berlin.

Rainer Parker-Stebbing

Rainer Parker-Stebbing is the Student Wellbeing Leader. He graduated from The University of Melbourne in 1999 with a Bachelor of Arts (Criminology) and then spent the next few years working in fashion wholesale and retail in Melbourne and overseas for both large and small businesses. He completed his teaching Diploma at The University of Melbourne in 2007 and was lucky enough to secure a placement that year at Fitzroy High School, which became a permanent teaching position the following year.

Jason Pietzner

Jason Pietzner has been a staff member at Fitzroy since it reopened in 2004. Before that he worked in primary schools in Melbourne and England where he held a range of roles involved in the development of curriculum and thinking skills. He teaches English, Literature and Media. Jason is also completing a PhD that examines the role of philosophical dialogue in the English classroom.

Pauline Rice

Pauline Rice is our Principal and has been in the role for four years, with an additional year as Acting Principal. She joined the school when it first opened in 2004 and commenced as the Indigo Team Leader, then moved on to become the Assistant Principal.  Prior to her time at Fitzroy, Pauline was a Middle Years Consultant, working with schools in the Northern Metropolitan Region of the Education Department. A large part of her work in this role was based on current educational research looking at what makes a highly effective school. For two years she worked with the planning committee to re-open Fitzroy High School and ultimately applied to join Fitzroy High School because she wanted to turn educational theory into reality. Pauline has also worked at Brunswick Secondary College and Debney Park Secondary College, where she held many leadership roles and taught across all year levels. Pauline believes that to be intellectually healthy it helps to be physically active. Pauline maintains her fitness by rowing, skiing and going to the gym. As an educator and a parent, Pauline recognises that all young people are different with a variety of needs. She believes it is important that we acknowledge and appreciate this rich diversity so we can better cater for the individual interests, talents and aspirations of the students in our care.

Erin Schroeder

Erin Schroeder joined the staff as a graduate in 2011.  Erin completed an Arts/Science degree in Canada and after moving to Australia she completed a Diploma in Natural Resource Management. Erin worked in the environmental and conservation industry for 5 years, working with young people to develop their conservation and land management skills.  Erin completed her Masters of Education at the University of Melbourne.

Vickie Stratis

Vickie Stratis studied at the Victoria College of the Arts- Prahran, where she majored in painting.  In the following years, she worked as a practicing artist. Vickie went back to study in 1991 at Melbourne University to complete a Bachelor of Education in the Visual Arts. In 1995, she founded Zoa- Fine Arts and Crafts, a business which produced hand- made furniture and giftware. Zoa’s products were stocked in many boutique shops around Australia. She also opened a gallery gift shop, Hunky Dora Design, which represented the artworks of more than sixty local artists. Vickie has two young children at Primary school. She came to Fitzroy High School in 2005 and teaches Art and Literacy Support.